SAGA Radio

SAGA Biography




earMUSIC releases an excellent SAGA reissue series within one year, covering all studio albums from 1989 – 2007. All twelve albums are enhanced by exclusive bonus tracks, newly recorded at Fabrik, Hamburg in April 2015 – Of course they’ve been never released before.
The beautifully designed booklets, including loads of original fan material, press articles, and more, are a must have for every fan. Furthermore, the founding band members of SAGA have their say on each album. The individual introductions grant quite personal insights to their work back in the days.


September 2015
The Beginner’s Guide To Throwing Shapes
The Security Of Illusion

November 2015
Steel Umbrellas
Generation 13

January 2016
Pleasure And The Pain

March 2016
Full Circle
House Of Cards

May 2016

July 2016
10,000 Days






Originally released: 1993
Preceding album: The Beginner’s Guide to Throwing Shapes (1989)

The ninth studio album "The Security of Illusion" was originally released 1993 and marks the return of Jim Gilmour (keyboards) and Steve Negus (drums), who both had left the band in 1986.
This new reunion definitely sparked new creativity into the band. While still sticking to their guns, the album features a slightly more progressive, slightly harder sound that awakens vivid memories to albums from their early 80’s period, such as “Worlds Apart” (1981) oder “Head Or Tales” (1983).
Fans praise “The Security of Illusion” as a truly appropriate comeback of the original lineup.
With "Mind Over Matter" or "Stand Up", the album features the Canadian’s rocky side but doesn’t neglect a soft touch with the tender ballad "Alone Again Tonight" or "Voila!", which is a nice classically-influences instrumental.

For this re-release, the album was completely remastered (2015). The tracklist is completed by two additional bonus tracks (never released before), newly recorded during their European Touring 2015 at Fabrik, Hamburg.

Line Up
Michael Sadler - vocals
Ian Crichton - guitar
Jim Gilmour - keyboards
Jim Crichton - bass
Steve Negus - drums, percussion

1. Entracte (instrumental)
2. Mind Over Matter
3. Once Is Never Enough
4. Alone Again Tonight
5. I'll Leave It In Your Hands
6. The Security of Illusion
7. Stand Up, 8. Days Like These
9. Voila! (instrumental)
10.No Man's Land
11.Without You
12.The Security Of Illusion (Acoustic Version)

Bonus Tracks
13. Scratching the Surface, Live at Fabrik, Hamburg
(Originally released on the album 'Heads Or Tales', 1983)
14. Ice Nice, Live at Fabrik, Hamburg
(Originally released on the album “Saga”, 1978)




0210376EMU SAGA Beginners-Guide Digipak-4s 3D

Originally realeased in 1989
Preceding album: Wildest Dreams (1987)

"The Beginner’s Guide To Throwing Shapes" is one of the first two releases of earMUSIC’s SAGA Reissue Series and has been considered as a highly underrated jewel & fan favorite by many.
Following the preceding “Wildest Dreams”, "The Beginner’s Guide To Throwing Shapes" features straight steps to a slightly a more progressive hard rock sound, without neglecting any of the trademark sound components of SAGA. Michael Sadler (vocals, keyboards) and the two Crichton brothers - Jim Crichton (bass, synth) and Ian Crichton (guitars, synth) – were the power trio at the time after Jim Gilmour and Steve Negus had left the band a couple years before. They skillfully add the right ingredients to the album.
For this re-release, the album was completely remastered (2015). The tracklist is completed by two additional bonus tracks (never released before), newly recorded during their European Touring 2015 at Fabrik, Hamburg.

Line Up
Michael Sadler – vocals, keyboards
Jim Crichton – bass, keyboards, synth
Ian Crichton – guitars, synth, banjo
Curt Cress – drums, percussion

1. How Do I Look
2. Starting All Over
3. Shape
4. Odd Man Out
5. The Nineties
6. Scarecrow
7. As I Am,
8. Waiting In The Wings
9. Giant

Bonus Tracks
10. Wind Him Up, Live at Fabrik, Hamburg
(Originally released on the album 'World's Apart', 1981)
11. The Flyer, Live at Fabrik, Hamburg
(Originally released on the album “Heads Or Tales”, 1983)






imagescd 013Dean Meehan/Official SAGA Facebook Group:

"Here is another chance to own a HUGE piece of SAGA history!

Tony Roberts, the artist who painted the cover art for "Images at Twilight" is selling the original painting from 1979!!

He is asking 1700 English Pounds."

70cms x 44cms
Saga - wrap-round record cover for the Canadian rock band’s album ‘Images at Twilight’

You can view the painting here:


Best of -Now and Then- the Collection 

now then


Viele Jahre sind vergangen, seit Sänger Michael Sadler im Haus von Jim Crichton ein und aus ging, um zwischen seinen Schichten als Taxifahrer Songs zu schreiben.
Dreißig Jahre später haben SAGA mehrmals den Globus betourt, unzählige Auszeichnungen erhalten und über acht Millionen Alben weltweit verkauft.
Auch heute feiern die kanadischen Musiker Erfolge: mit ihrem letzten Studioalbum "Sagacity" (2014) schoss die Band auf Nr. 17 der deutschen Charts. Ihr Album "20/20" (2013) schaffte es sogar auf Nr. 13. Und mindestens einmal pro Jahr geht die Band auf ausgedehnte, ausverkaufte Deutschlandtour.

2015 ist es an der Zeit, die umfassende Karriere der Band von Beginn bis heute mit einem allumfassenden Best Of zu beleuchten.
Das Album vereint erstmals 21 progressive Hymnen - aus jedem Studioalbum der Band eine -, denen weder die markanten Gitarren-Riffs, die im Einklang mit den komplexen Keyboard-Arrangements stehen, noch Michael Sadlers charakteristische Stimme fehlen.
Von dem Debütalbum "Saga" bis hin zu "Sagacity" vereint das Best Of alle bedeutenden Songs der Band. Es fehlt weder der der Top 30-Hit "On The Loose", noch "You're Not Alone" oder "Scratching The Surface", noch aktuelle Songs wie "Anywhere You Wanna Go" und "I'll Be". Auch das Artwork gibt interessante Einblicke in die über 30-jährige Bandgeschichte, versammelt es alte Presseartikel, rare Backstageaufnahmen und das ein oder andere Bild aus dem Privatarchiv der Band.

SAGA - eine Band, die aus der Progressive Rock-Szene nicht mehr wegzudenken ist.

1. Perfectionist (von "Saga", 1978)
2. You're Not Alone (von "Images At Twilight", 1979)
3. Don't Be Late (von "Silent Knight, 1980)
4. On The Loose (von "Worlds Apart", 1981)
5. Scratching the Surface (von "Heads Or Tales", 1983)
6. Take a Chance (von "Behaviour", 1985)
7. Wildest Dreams (von "Wildest Dreams", 1987)
8. Giant (von "The Beginners Guide To Throwing Shapes", 1989)
9. The Security of Illusion (von "The Security Of Illusion", 1993)
10. Steamroller (von "Steel Umbrellas", 1994)

1. Generation 13 (von "Generation 13", 1995)
2. Heaven Can Wait (von "Pleasure & The Pain", 1997)
3. The One (von "Full Circle", 1999)
4. Always There (von "House Of Cards", 2001)
5. Breathing Lessons (von "Marathon", 2003)
6. On The Air (von "Network", 2004)
7. Trust (von "Trust", 2006)
8. Book of Lies (von "10,000 Days", 2007)
9. Step Inside (von "The Human Condition", 2009)
10. Anywhere You Wanna Go (von "20/20", 2012)
11. I’ll Be (von "Sagacity", 2014)

Anzahl Disks/Tonträger: 2
Format: Doppel-CD
Label: Earmusic (Edel)